VILLA PARK PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING May 24, 2017

<u>Call to Order</u>: President Hubbard called the annual meeting of the Villa Park Public Library Board of Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m.

<u>Trustees Present</u>: Dan Hippensteel, Michelle Geyer-Ross, Lydia Hodges, Pat Hubbard, Dianne Luebker, Mark McCleary.

Trustees Absent: Tammy Hensley

<u>Also Present</u>: Sandra Hill, Library Director; Cheryl Delaney, Recording Secretary, Steve De La Rosa, Wanda Koeller.

Introduction of Visitors: None.

Additions and Revisions to the Agenda: Hubbard added Public Participation to the agenda.

Public Participation: None.

<u>Approval of Minutes of 2016 Annual Meeting</u>: McCleary moved the minutes be approved. Hippensteel seconded the motion. Motion carried on voice vote.

Report of the Board President: Hubbard reported she met with Hill on 5/11/17 and they reviewed the property swap agreement. Hubbard said she met with Hill and Hodges to sign the agreement. Hubbard also had a meeting with Graham Harwood from CSI International, Michael McMahon and Hill to discuss the fascia, schematic phase, and the draft of CCS International's contract. Hubbard met with Andy Dogan from Williams Architects, Harwood, McMahon and Hill to discuss fascia and schematic drawings. Hubbard stated that hopefully groundbreaking will be March/early April 2018.

<u>Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officials:</u> Secretary Hodges administered the oath of office to Steve De La Rosa, Pat Hubbard, Wanda Koeller and Dianne Luebker.

Adjournment Sine Die: McCleary moved the meeting be adjourned. Luebker seconded the motion, and the meeting was adjourned at 7:12 p.m.

Reconvened with Newly Established Library Board.

Call to Order: President Hubbard called the reconvened meeting to order at 7:12 p.m.

<u>Trustees Present</u>: Steve De La Rosa, Lydia Hodges, Pat Hubbard, Wanda Koeller, Dianne Luebker, Mark McCleary.

Trustees Absent: Tammy Hensley.

<u>Also Present</u>: Sandra Hill, Library Director; Cheryl Delaney, Recording Secretary, Daniel Hippensteel, Michelle Geyer-Ross.

Introduction of Visitors: None.

Resolution honoring Michelle Geyer-Ross and Daniel Hippensteel for their service as a Villa Park Public Library Trustee: McCleary moved the resolutions honoring Michelle Geyer-Ross and Daniel Hippensteel be approved. Luebker seconded the motion. Motion carried on voice vote.

Election of Officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer):

For the office of President, McCleary nominated Hubbard, and Hodges seconded the motion. After some discussion, Hubbard closed the nominations. Motion carried on voice vote. Hubbard was elected President.

For the office of Vice-President, McCleary nominated Hodges, and Koeller seconded the motion. After some discussion, Hubbard closed the nominations. Motion carried on voice vote. Hodges was elected Vice-President.

For the office of Secretary, McCleary nominated Luebker, and Koeller seconded the motion. After some discussion, Hubbard closed the nominations. Motion carried on voice vote. Luebker was elected Secretary.

For the office of Treasurer, Luebker nominated McCleary, and Hodges seconded the motion. After some discussion, Hubbard closed the nominations. Motion carried on voice vote. McCleary was elected Treasurer.

<u>Selection of Friends of the Villa Park Library Liaison</u>: Hubbard appointed Luebker as the Friends of the Villa Park Library liaison, Hodges was appointed as the alternate.

Selection of RAILS Reporter: Hubbard appointed Hodges as the RAILS Reporter.

Selection of Legislative Reporter: Hubbard appointed De La Rosa as the Legislative Reporter.

<u>Representation at Policy Committee Meetings during the Coming Year</u>: Hubbard appointed Hodges, Hensley, and Luebker as members of the Policy Committee.

<u>Representation at Finance Committee Meetings during the Coming Year</u>: Hubbard appointed McCleary (chair), Koeller, and Hubbard (ex-officio) as members of the Finance Committee.

Representation at Building Committee Meetings during the Coming Year: Hubbard appointed McCleary and Hubbard as members of the Building Committee, De La Rosa was appointed as the alternate.

<u>Annual Appointment of OMA Designee/FOIA Officer</u>: Hubbard appointed Hill as the OMA Designee and Hill as FOIA Officer.

<u>OMA Training for Newly Elected Officials:</u> Hill explained that the OMA training must be completed by the newly elected Trustees within the next 90 days.

<u>Adjournment</u>: McCleary moved the meeting be adjourned. De La Rosa seconded the motion, and the meeting was adjourned at 7:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheryl Delaney Recording Secretary